Cinderella, Where’s Your Story?

For years I found myself auditioning for the role to be the best Cinderella. By living vicariously through her, she told me my dreams of my future were wishes my heart made.

Didn’t have to tell me twice, I ran with that, had it all planned out. Wedding ideas set…’arrive in a carriage with horses’ ‘cinderella gown, glass slippers and hell, let’s throw in the crown’ ‘white and red themed ensemble – white representing purity & red our flaming love’.  From the table arrangements to the flowers settings, my Cinderella plans were on going and up to par.

Then I messed up. Got caught up and ended up walking out with both glass slippers…no Happy Ending to attend. All because I forgot one thing, the most important fact, Cinderella just wanted a “good damn time”. She worked hard and took pride in herself. She was courageous and kind. Always believing in the impossible. Most importantly, she was the love that she never received.

Sure. It’s all fine and dandy to have dreams. To take a leap of faith and try to live them, but with the wrong intentions you’ll end up like Cinderella’s step sisters, desperate and alone. I’d rather be like Cinderella, who said, “even miracles take time”. So I’m waiting with my ideas locked away.

One day your prince will come. Mine just took a wrong turn, got lost, and is too stubborn to ask for directions. I hope he knows I’m ready to meet him. And as for Cinderella, she’s proof that a new pair of shoes can change your life.

Leave a Reply

