5:53am

I wanted to touch him, as he laid there. I wanted to consume him wholly; to lose myself in his being, covering myself in his light.

And although my ears were bleeding, I kept listening and watching the way his mouth moved because he told me everything I needed to hear. Everything you didn’t say.

Because the fact is that saying and doing are two completely different things. You said you cared but I showed it. I proved it. I made promises I could keep.

Again and again I ate my wishes and swallowed my dreams. I bit my lip and punished my pride.

There is no need to glorify the pain of unrequited love. There is no beauty in the way they always reach past you towards someone better. It can only mean that to them, dandelions are weeds that blow away in the wind, fulfilling the wishes of others, never their own.

Leave a Reply

