Answered Prayers

Their screams were loud – so loud, it shook the walls.
He swore at her.
Her tears fell faster than the pictures on the walls.
Cover your ears, she told me.
I turned away from the door – running straight towards the closet.
There I prayed, begging for silence.
Curses.
You’re drunk, she yelled.
He slapped her – I knew because she whimpered the way a dog would when hurt.
I hugged my knees, now crying.
Oh dios mío baja el arma – oh my gosh, put the gun down, she yelled.
Shots.
She screamed.
Except she kept screaming.
He was silent.
I prayed for silence.
Never for death.
I did this.
She’ll blame me.

Leave a Reply

