Love, Is it Enough?

Is love enough?

Love has been floating in my air for quite some while now. Not just the feeling of being in love but the beginnings of love; the smiles, cute gestures, laughter…all the baby-making stuff.

It’s amazing.

I watch my parents’ journey through love, hoping for the same but praying for smoother sailings; financially, emotionally, etc. There comes a time in life when as children (those who are blessed with both parents) we glorify the love our parents dwell in; watching them float on clouds and wish the same for our future selves. Until one day my mother told me, “Don’t marry just for love.”

*Cue Glass Shatter*

It made me wonder why she would say such a thing, causing me to question if love was truly the answer to all evil. As a child, I believed love was the cure for all diseases. I even estimated how much love it would take to save the world, or to fix a broken-heart. She made me wonder how old people stuck through their marriage for 80 plus years, until sadness or death. 

Don’t just marry for love.

Of course, as I grew older I understood she meant that love couldn’t pay bills or buy things you need for a house, nevertheless feed a child who cries during the night for food we may not have.

Sure love isn’t materialistic; it doesn’t grow on trees or sells itself to hard working businessmen, yet, it manages to consume us like the air we sit and breathe in.

Love.

One can never control who they love. I’ve tried.

 

No matter how much we can try to hinder love by pushing it away; it will only build fences around us, trapping us in.

One of my many discoveries about love, that I’ve concluded as the funniest, is that love is the biggest bitch a man or woman will ever encounter themselves with. This BITCH will encamp itself around your heart, unpack feelings, break down walls and corrupt your insides until you burst into flames or come smashing down. 

*Cue GASPS*

Shimmer down my children, for I bear great news.

Although being in love draws the need for constant interaction, affection and desire; it may sometimes take the complete opposite, a withdrawal from love, that may ignite the full understanding of love and/or of whom you are in love with. 

Like I always say, the little things matter the most.

The way his fingers brush across your skin.

His butterfly kisses.

The beauty that screams so boldly as he opens his eyes. 

So no, don’t just marry for love, marry because love projects a world beyond reality. One that proves that if I were deaf, I’ll hear your laughter through your smile. If I were mute, I’ll speak to you through your eyes. If I were blind, I’ll see you through your touch. I can live without my senses but life won’t make sense without you.

That’s intense.

Leave a Reply

