Insomnia is a Mean Motha Watch-Yo-Mouth

I wish I had your number again. 

So that I could text you and tell you that I can’t sleep.

So that my mind could be at ease or with words you could please me into a land of dreams; where nothing seemed to matter but where fantasies became more than fallacies but my God given reality. 

I wish you knew how I felt.

I mean feel because this feeling is more than real, it’s impeccable.

When it feels like a deal sealed with blood or when my heart beats harder with every thud.

No, for now, lets forget poetry, let’s just talk. 

I can’t sleep. Lately, I never can sleep. I guess insomnia caught back up with me after we had a horrible breakup. I hate that bitch. Excuse my language but you have to understand that I’m fairly upset for being the only one left alone, awake. See I want to sleep, I need sleep but everything within is resisting the urge and I’m awake writing to a you but failing to realize that YOU don’t exist because no one is listening. 

It’s a shame that I haven’t wrote in a while. Always flaring with the same old excuses; either I’ve been too lazy, too tired, too busy or the words I want to say become too overrated and well-known to some. Would you call me selfish if I called you and woke you up? 

Well, it’s 5:14 am. 

The sun has rose and my eyes are still wide. 

I’m still awake.

And you still lie there, sleeping.

2 Comments

  1. Like insulin and inflammation, blue light is integral to our health – in the correct amounts. When we’re exposed to levels of anything in excess (or too little) of what we would have experienced for the bulk of our evolutionary history, problems arise. Blue light regulates our secretion of melatonin, the sleep hormone. Exposed to blue light, we limit the production of melatonin, and we stay alert and awake; in the absence of blue light, melatonin production ramps up, and we get sleepy. This system worked quite well for a long time. Reddish light from fire (our formerly primary source of nighttime illumination) has little to no effect on melatonin production, so sleep wasn’t disrupted when we relied on fire. These days, though, we’re subject to a steady barrage of blue light. During the day, blue light (natural or unnatural) isn’t much of a problem because we’re supposed to be awake, but at night, when we’re “supposed” to be getting ready to sleep, we tend to sit in front of blue light-emanating appliances, and our sleep suffers for it.

Leave a Reply

