I am Who I am.

What am I?

Not only does my skin play a major part in what I am but so does not my culture. I was born in Jamaica, not in Africa but my descendent’s were originally from the “Motherland”. It hurts me when people, who clearly show the skin tone of an African-American, disown their own color proclaiming themselves to be of another race or descendant.  Why run from the truth. I believe that we as African-Americans should stand strong and fight hard for our skin tones because it was not too long ago when Caucasians took it upon themselves to slave our people, the same people we descended from. I am not too afraid to stand of for what I am, I will never run away from who I am because I am proud to be what and who I am, being who am I is what I live for.

If I could meet every individual who has separated themselves from someone a tone lighter or darker than they are, I would remind them our ancestors past. I would plunge their minds of the pain that our ancestors felt when they took whips to their backs for proudly proclaiming who they were. I am not too afraid to stand of for what I am. It is a struggle today for people of my race to live a fair founded life, to gain the required respect from those who are averaged lighter than we are. I will not stand to see anyone fall against those who opposed us.

It pains me to see that we fight against our own people, killing what we should be standing up for. It would make sense to me that we stand against those who hurt us but we only allow them to praise us for doing their jobs. It upsets me to see that we can not come into agreement of what we need to do to be successful but we find so much time to neglect our own kind and submit to those who hurt us.

I am not too afraid to stand of for what I am, I will never run away from who I am because I am proud to be what and who I am, being who am I is what I live for. Why can’t we stand up for each other rather than putting one another down?

I AM WHO I AM, PROVE TO ME YOU ARE WHO YOU ARE!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

